Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Timo Lassy

Jazz
  • TRIO
  • Timo Lassy
    sax
  • Jaska Lukkarinen
    drums
  • Ville Herrala
    bass
  • ——–
  • can also be booked together with Teppo Mäkynen
    drums
booking territory: Germany, Austria, Switzerland and East-Europe

Timo Lassy plays the saxophone like he means it. Listen to him, and you hear someone fully dedicated to his art, no matter what the context. Timo is the winner of the EMMA and Yrjö prizes in Finland for jazz album of the year and jazz musician of the year, respectively. Additionally, his work has been lauded by the likes of Gilles Peterson and Downbeat.

biography

Timo Lassy

Saxophonist, composer, band leader Timo Lassy (born 1974) is perhaps the biggest jazz star to come out of Finland in the new millennium. Having worked as a sought-after freelance saxophonist already during his studies at Sibelius Academy and Amsterdam Conservatory he was amongst the new generation of Finnish musicians who formed The Five Corners Quintet known for bringing jazz back to the dancefloor reaching a large audience around the globe.

For the past 15 years Lassy, the remarkably charismatic performer, has released 10 albums and toured with his bands all around Europe, the US and faraway places like Brazil, and in Finland he’s practically a household name. His tenor sax sound is robust and confident, but never fails to engage emotionally.

The latest musical adventure of Timo Lassy is ”TRIO”, new live combo and album released in August 2021 on the Finnish label We Jazz Records.
Other recent active project is ”Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen”. Together with his long-time associate, drummer and producer Teppo ”Teddy Rok” Mäkynen he composes energetic music with a completely different concept compared to his trio.

In the past Lassy has collaborated with singer José James “Round Two” Album in 2009 and later also with Brazilian giant Ed Motta on vocals at ”When The Devils’s Paid” EP in 2017.
As a composer Timo Lassy has produced music to both feature film and documentaries such as “Postilokero 347 – Pikku Kakkosen tarina” (2017), “Ei kiitos” (2014), “Moomins on Riviera” (2014) and “My Stuff” (2013).
He has also been composed two unique orchestral suites as a soloist: Kerkko Koskinen for “American miniature horse” (premiered 2017 – Lahti Sinfonietta conducted by Dima Slobodeniouk) and Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen for “A Nocturnal Affair” (premiered 2014 – Umo Jazz Orchestra).

Timo is the winner of the EMMA and Yrjö prizes in Finland for jazz album of the year and jazz musician of the year, respectively.
Additionally, his work has been lauded by the likes of Gilles Peterson and Downbeat.

Discography:
Trio (We Jazz Records, 2021)
Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen: ”Live Recordings 2019-2020” (We Jazz Records, 2021)
Big Brass (Membran, 2020)
Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen (We Jazz Records, 2019)
Moves (Membran, 2018)
Love Bullet (Membran, 2015)
Live with Lassy (Schema Records, 2014)
In with Lassy (Schema Records, 2011)
Round Two (Rick-Tick Records, 2009)
Soul and Jazz of Timo Lassy (Ricky-Tick Records, 2007)

Teppo Mäkynen

Teppo Mäkynen (born 1974) is a drummer and a producer from Helsinki. His work includes celebrated projects such as 3TM, The Stance Brothers (+ Jo Stance), Teddy Rok Seven, plus many more. As a drummer, he was a key part of the live band of The Five Corners Quintet, still the most internationally successful Finnish jazz outfit to date. Nowadays, Mäkynen mans the drum seat of not only his own projects, but also A-list bands such as Timo Lassy Band, Verneri Pohjola Quartet, Aki Rissanen Trio and Jukka Eskola Soul Trio. His playing is swingin’ to the bone, no matter what the style is. Mäkynen has a natural knack at envisioning new musical directions both as a composer and a player, and he’s considered one of the most personal and musical drummers around. As a producer, he’s also known as “Teddy Rok”, and his production credits include Timo Lassy’s solo albums and those of Jukka Eskola, plus of course his own projects. Mäkynen has won the Jazz-Emma twice: in 2004 with Teddy Rok Seven and in 2017 with 3TM’s album “Form”. He is also one of the hosts of the very popular weekly show “Jazz kiinnostaa” (“Jazz interests”) on Radio Helsinki.

Jaska Lukkarinen

Jaska Lukkarinen is an Espoo based jazz drummer known for his versatile and open-minded drumming. Lukkarinen has studied in Sibelius-Academy and Manhattan School of Music with great jazz drummers and teachers such as John Riley, Adam Nussbaum and Jukkis Uotila. Lukkarinen is known for his drumming with the Timo Lassy Trio, Ricky-Tick Big Band, Dalindeo, UMO and Manuel Dunkel Quartet. Lukkarinen has led his own Jaska Lukkarinen Trio since 2008. On its latest recording, “Origami”, the trio plays music by Valtteri Pöyhönen. Besides his active freelance work including teaching, recording and theatre, Lukkarinen is a doctoral student at the University of the Arts MuTri Doctoral School. Lukkarinen works for the Finnish Musicians’ Association, runs his own record label JASKAA and has been a board member in cultural organisations such as the Finnish Jazz Federation and the Foundation for Music Promotion, MES.

Ville Herrala

Ville Herrala has been active in the Helsinki music scene for over 20 years. Known for his versatility as well as his explorative attitude, Herrala has worked with a wide range of Finnish artists such as Juhani Aaltonen, Jukka Perko, Otto Donner, Verneri Pohjola, Aki Rissanen, Kalle Kalima and UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra. Herrala has also been fortunate to share the stage with international jazz stars such as Benny Golson, Joshua Redman, John Tchicai, Uri Caine, Phil Markowitz and Jim Black. Along with his work as a freelance musician, Herrala teaches at his alma mater, Sibelius Academy. He released his debut album, “Pu” on the We Jazz record label in 2020. First record of its kind in Finland. The Album features 14 improvised pieces for solo double bass.

review

About “TRIO” album

 “An epic trio album” DownBeat

“Solid, hard swinging stuff that leaves the listener with a feel-good factor” Jazzwise

 “A masterpiece” Der Spiegel


About “BIG BRASS” live album

“Combining a mixture of soul and free jazz, tradition and innovation, this is a well mastered release packed with quality jazz.” The Audiophile Man

“Finland’s leading saxophonist has released his strongest album.” Jazz Journal

“[…] an artist whose prolific approach to music continues to see his star rise through each release.” UK Vibe

“Lassy’s relaxed swinging Soul-Jazz gains a totally new depth.” Jazzthing

 

About “Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen” album

“Brilliant album!” Gilles Peterson

“The two make simple sound simply divine.” DownBeat

“This album is a success. It’s creative, interesting, intellectual.” UK Vibe

“Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen are two titans on Finland´s Jazz scene” Supreme Standards

“Liberty pt.1 features a mantra-like melody almost worthy of Coltrane or David S. Ware.” Stereogum

“On this record, it’s instinctive coming from two players very familiar with one another. Great!” Allmusic

 

About “MOVES” album

“Terrific work from Timo Lassy here […] Eero Koivistoinen guests […]. check Northern Express […]” Gilles Peterson

“He’s a Finnish saxophonist who makes funky soul-jazz recordings that never conform to the quietly introspective Nordic stereotype. There’s a broadening of the palettte – and a slight dipping of energy levels – as his quintet teams up with guests including Ricky-Tick Big Band Brass” Clive Davis, The Sunday Times

 

About “LOVE BULLET” album

“His finger-snapping brand of bop aims for head and heart” The Sunday Times

“This is a big city cat exploring the tenement he knows so well.” London Jazz News

“It’s accessible music, yet it’s the work of erudite and gifted musicians” Hi Fi News

“Lassy has a knack of coming up with brisk hooks and vamps […] when the tempo heats up, the band are irresistible.” The Sunday Times

 

About “IN WITH LASSY” album

“An exhilarating workout from one of Europe’s sharpest bands.” Sunday Times

”Best jazz is not elitistic, but music for each moment: morning coffee, background music while working, or for dancing. Lassy does the trick everywhere, and that is why it is currently best jazz music both nationally and internationally.” Image

press

Timo Lassy plays the saxophone like he means it. Listen to him, and you hear someone fully dedicated to his art, no matter what the context. Despite being a fixture earlier on Downbeat Magazine polls for ”Rising Star” on the baritone saxophone section, he nowadays plays the tenor. That being said, on previous recordings he has also been heard on the flute, but to understand Lassy as an artist, his recent concentration on the tenor is a key thing. He goes deep.

For those paying attention to the jazz scene in Helsinki at the turn of the millennium, the chances are that you first heard him on the ranks of the Blue Note recording U-Street All Stars, or perhaps The Five Corners Quintet, the Nuspirit Helsinki led jazz project which morphed into a live band setting stages on fire the world over.

The newest musical adventure by Timo Lassy is ”Trio”, released by We Jazz Records in August 2021. The trio mentioned on the title is a new one, featuring Ville Herrala on double bass and Jaska Lukkarinen on drums. On the album Lassy expands the sound of his core unit by inviting strings and electronics along for the ride. The live thing brings out the essence of the band at the center of it all (hence the album title), and stands as a testament to the eternal joy of creating music together, live on stage.

Lassy’s riff-heavy new compositions take things in a new direction, into one where heavy funk, effortlessly rolling soul jazz and forward-reaching acoustic jazz meet. Their recipe may seem simple on the surface level but for anyone who has tried, there’s no harder task in jazz music than to establish a unit which sounds together and maintains its musical direction at all times, however surprising the music might get on the moment.

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren

Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Timo Lassy

Jazz
  • TRIO
  • Timo Lassy
    sax
  • Jaska Lukkarinen
    drums
  • Ville Herrala
    bass
  • ——–
  • can also be booked together with Teppo Mäkynen
    drums
Booking Bereich: Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz, Ost-Europa

Timo Lassy spielt das Saxophon, als ob er es ernst meint. Wenn man ihm zuhört, hört man jemanden, der sich voll und ganz seiner Kunst verschrieben hat, ganz gleich in welchem Kontext. Timo ist der Gewinner des EMMA- und des Yrjö-Preises in Finnland für das Jazzalbum des Jahres bzw. den Jazzmusiker des Jahres. Darüber hinaus wurde seine Arbeit von Größen wie Gilles Peterson und Downbeat gelobt.

Biographie

Timo Lassy

Der Saxophonist, Komponist und Bandleader Timo Lassy (geb. 1974) ist vielleicht der größte Jazzstar, der im neuen Jahrtausend aus Finnland hervorgegangen ist. Schon während seines Studiums an der Sibelius-Akademie und am Amsterdamer Konservatorium war er ein gefragter freischaffender Saxophonist und gehörte zu der neuen Generation finnischer Musiker, die das Five Corners Quintett gründeten, welches dafür bekannt ist, den Jazz wieder auf die Tanzflächen zu bringen und damit weltweit ein großes Publikum erreicht.

In den letzten 15 Jahren hat Lassy, der bemerkenswert charismatische Künstler, 10 Alben veröffentlicht und ist mit seinen Bands in ganz Europa, den USA und in fernen Ländern wie Brasilien auf Tournee gegangen. In Finnland ist er nahezu ein fester Bestandteil der Gesellschaft. Sein Tenorsaxophon-Sound ist robust und selbstbewusst, versäumt es aber nie, emotional zu berühren.

Das neueste musikalische Abenteuer von Timo Lassy ist „TRIO“, eine neue Live-Combo und ein Album, das im August 2021 auf dem finnischen Label We Jazz Records erscheint.
Ein weiteres aktives Projekt ist „Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen“, bei welchem er gemeinsam mit seinem langjährigen Partner, dem Schlagzeuger und Produzenten Teppo „Teddy Rok“ Mäkynen einen energetischen Klang komponiert, welcher sich stark von dem seines Trios unterscheidet.

In der Vergangenheit hat Lassy mit dem Sänger José James auf dem „Round Two“-Album (2009) und später auch mit dem brasilianischen Giganten Ed Motta auf der „When The Devils’s Paid“-EP (2017) zusammengearbeitet.
Als Komponist hat Lassy Musik zu Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen wie „Postilokero 347 – Pikku Kakkosen tarina“ (2017), „Ei kiitos“ (2014), „Moomins on Riviera“ (2014) und „My Stuff“ (2013) produziert.
Er hat auch zwei einzigartige Orchestersuiten als Solist komponiert: Kerkko Koskinen für „American miniature horse“ (uraufgeführt 2017 – Lahti Sinfonietta unter der Leitung von Dima Slobodeniouk) und Valtteri Laurell Pöyhönen für „A Nocturnal Affair“ (uraufgeführt 2014 – Umo Jazz Orchestra).

Timo ist Gewinner des EMMA- und des Yrjö-Preises in Finnland für das Jazzalbum des Jahres bzw. den Jazzmusiker des Jahres.
Darüber hinaus wurde seine Arbeit von Größen wie Gilles Peterson und Downbeat gelobt.

Diskographie:
Trio (We Jazz Records, 2021)
Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen: „Live Recordings 2019-2020“ (We Jazz Records, 2021)
Big Brass (Membran, 2020)
Timo Lassy & Teppo Mäkynen (We Jazz Records, 2019)
Moves (Membran, 2018)
Love Bullet (Membran, 2015)
Live with Lassy (Schema Records, 2014)
In with Lassy (Schema Records, 2011)
Round Two (Rick-Tick Records, 2009)
Soul und Jazz von Timo Lassy (Ricky-Tick Records, 2007)

Teppo Mäkynen

Teppo Mäkynen (geboren 1974) ist ein Schlagzeuger und Produzent aus Helsinki. Zu seinen Arbeiten gehören gefeierte Projekte wie 3TM, The Stance Brothers (+ Jo Stance), Teddy Rok Seven und viele mehr. Als Schlagzeuger war er ein wichtiger Teil der Live-Band des Five Corners Quintet, der bis heute international erfolgreichsten finnischen Jazzband. Heutzutage sitzt Mäkynen nicht nur in seinen eigenen Projekten am Schlagzeug, sondern auch in hochkarätigen Bands wie der Timo Lassy Band, dem Verneri Pohjola Quartet, dem Aki Rissanen Trio und dem Jukka Eskola Soul Trio. Sein Spiel swingt bis in die Knochen, ganz gleich, welcher Stil es ist. Mäkynen hat ein natürliches Gespür für neue musikalische Richtungen, sowohl als Komponist als auch als Musiker, und er gilt als einer der persönlichsten und musikalischsten Schlagzeuger überhaupt. Als Produzent ist er auch unter dem Namen „Teddy Rok“ bekannt und hat unter anderem die Soloalben von Timo Lassy und Jukka Eskola produziert, aber natürlich auch eigene Projekte. Mäkynen hat zweimal den Jazz-Emma gewonnen: 2004 mit Teddy Rok Seven und 2017 mit dem Album „Form“ von 3TM. Er ist auch einer der Moderatoren der sehr beliebten wöchentlichen Sendung „Jazz kiinnostaa“ („Jazzinteressen“) auf Radio Helsinki.

Jaska Lukkarinen

Jaska Lukkarinen ist ein in Espoo ansässiger Jazz-Schlagzeuger, der für sein vielseitiges und aufgeschlossenes Schlagzeugspiel bekannt ist. Lukkarinen hat an der Sibelius-Akademie und der Manhattan School of Music bei großen Jazz-Schlagzeugern und Lehrern wie John Riley, Adam Nussbaum und Jukkis Uotila studiert. Lukkarinen ist bekannt für sein Schlagzeugspiel mit dem Timo Lassy Trio, der Ricky-Tick Big Band, Dalindeo, UMO und dem Manuel Dunkel Quartett. Seit 2008 leitet Lukkarinen sein eigenes Jaska Lukkarinen Trio. Auf seiner jüngsten Aufnahme „Origami“ spielt das Trio Musik von Valtteri Pöyhönen. Neben seiner aktiven freiberuflichen Arbeit, die auch Unterricht, Aufnahmen und Theater umfasst, ist Lukkarinen Doktorand an der MuTri-Doktorandenschule der Universität der Künste. Lukkarinen arbeitet für den finnischen Musikerverband, betreibt sein eigenes Plattenlabel JASKAA und war Vorstandsmitglied in kulturellen Organisationen wie der Finnish Jazz Federation und der Foundation for Music Promotion, MES.

Ville Herrala

Ville Herrala ist seit über 20 Jahren in der Musikszene von Helsinki aktiv. Bekannt für seine Vielseitigkeit und seine experimentierfreudige Haltung, hat Herrala mit einer Vielzahl finnischer Künstler wie Juhani Aaltonen, Jukka Perko, Otto Donner, Verneri Pohjola, Aki Rissanen, Kalle Kalima und dem UMO Helsinki Jazz Orchestra zusammengearbeitet. Herrala hatte auch das Glück, die Bühne mit internationalen Jazzstars wie Benny Golson, Joshua Redman, John Tchicai, Uri Caine, Phil Markowitz und Jim Black zu teilen. Neben seiner Arbeit als freiberuflicher Musiker unterrichtet Herrala an seiner Alma Mater, der Sibelius Academy. 2020 veröffentlichte er sein Debütalbum „Pu“ auf dem Label We Jazz Records. Es ist das erste Album seiner Art in Finnland. Das Album enthält 14 improvisierte Stücke für Solo-Kontrabass.

Rezensionen

“Eine Einspielung, die wie eine Quintessenz bisherigen Schaffens und wie ein vorläufiger Schlusspunkt samt Ausblick wirkt – eingespielt mit großartigem Sound, in spannenden Arrangements sowie mit zahlreichen Weggefährten und Freunden als Gästen. Die “Moves” zu einem Album mit starken Wurzeln in der Jazztradition machen, das mit zahlreichen Anleihen in der afro-amerikanischen Pop-Moderne allerdings deutliche eigene Akzente setzt.” NDR

„Ein Meisterwerk“ Spiegel

“Denn auf seinem sechsten Album „Moves“ erzählen, seufzen und lachen der Finne und sein Tenorsaxofon in so mensch-instrumentaler Einheit, als seien die Tenortöne die Wörter” Stern

“[…] kaum lässt sich ein kalt-nasser Dezemberabend besser verbringen als mit wie geölt fließendem, positive Stimmung verströmendem Soul Jazz und Hard Bop allererster Güte […]” JazzThetik

“[…] ein Album [„Love Bullet“], das so viel Sisu im Stammbaum hat dass man gar keinen Winter braucht, um die vom ihm auströmende Wärme zu verstehen.” Jazzthing

“Timo Lassy, der sein Instrument wie kaum ein anderer beherrscht, sorgte mit seinen gefühlvollen Soli auf tiefster Seele für fesselnde und spannende Momente.” Aargauer Zeitung

“Sein groovender Jazz steckt voller Seele, ist geschult an Klassikern wie Hank Mobley und drängt seit Jahren auf die Tanzfläche. Lassy stellt seine atemberaubende Virtuosität nicht aus. Der Mann bleibt cool. Und kocht auf heißer Flamme unwiderstehliche Songs. Love Bullet trifft ins Herz.” rbb radioeins

“Bei Lassy geht es auch so ziemlich heiß her, auch wenn sein Jazz „cool“ ist. […] der Mann kennt sich dazu hörbar im guten alten Hard Bop aus, vor allem aber groovt er mächtig.” Landeszeitung Lüneburg

Pressetexte

Timo Lassy spielt das Saxophon, als ob er es ernst meint. Wer ihm zuhört, versteht das er sich voll und ganz seiner Kunst verschrieben hat, egal in welchem Kontext. Obwohl er früher bei den Umfragen des Downbeat Magazins zum „Rising Star“ in der Baritonsaxophon-Sektion vertreten war, spielt er heute das Tenorsaxophon. Allerdings war er auf früheren Aufnahmen auch auf der Flöte zu hören, aber um Lassy als Künstler zu verstehen, ist seine jüngste Konzentration auf das Tenorsaxophon von entscheidender Bedeutung. Er geht in die Tiefe.

Wer die Jazzszene Helsinkis um die Jahrtausendwende verfolgt hat, hat ihn wahrscheinlich zum ersten Mal in den Reihen der U-Street All Stars von Blue Note gehört, oder vielleicht im Five Corners Quintet, dem von Nuspirit Helsinki geleiteten Jazzprojekt, das sich zu einer Live-Band entwickelt hat, die auf der ganzen Welt die Bühnen in Brand setzt.

Das neueste musikalische Abenteuer von Timo Lassy heißt „Trio“ und erschien im August 2021 auf dem finnischen Label We Jazz Records. Das auf dem Titel erwähnte Trio ist neu und besteht aus Ville Herrala am Kontrabass und Jaska Lukkarinen am Schlagzeug.
Auf dem Album erweitert Lassy den Sound seiner Stammformation, indem er Streicher und elektronische Elemente mit einbezieht. Das Live-Erlebnis bringt die Essenz der Band, die im Mittelpunkt des Ganzen steht, zum Vorschein (daher auch der Albumtitel) und ist ein Zeugnis für die ewige Freude, live auf der Bühne gemeinsam Musik zu machen.

Lassy‘s Riff-lastige neue Kompositionen führen die Musik in eine neue Richtung, in der schwerer Funk, mühelos rollender Soul-Jazz und zukunftsweisender akustischer Jazz aufeinandertreffen.
Ihr Rezept mag oberflächlich betrachtet einfach erscheinen, aber für jeden, der dies versucht hat, gibt es keine schwierigere Herausforderung in der Jazzmusik, als eine Einheit zu schaffen, welche zusammen harmoniert und die musikalische Richtung immer beibehält, egal wie überraschend die Musik im Moment auch sein mag.

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren