Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Komeda Unknown 1967

jazz
  • Release Date:
    23.09.2022
  • Article Number:
  • Barcode:
    5902596066796

Piotr Schmidt

Piotr Schmidt – Komeda Unknown 1967. With a new ensemble, the outstanding Polish trumpet player Piotr Schmidt, arranged and elaborated on recently found in the National Library in Warsaw, previously unknown compositions by Krzysztof Komeda from 1967, which were originally to be included in the Meine Süsse Europäische Heimat – My Sweet European Homeland project from 1967. When two years ago Schmidt received a phone call from Krzysztof Balkiewicz, the Chair of the Society for the Protection of Krzysztof Komeda’s Legacy and the director of the Love Polish Jazz Festival, who had just found these compositions, Schmidt did not realize the proposal was so significant. Balkiewicz told Schmidt the whole story related to the sensationally found pieces and persuaded him to develop and arrange this material and to premiere it at his Love Polish Jazz Festival in Tomaszów Mazowiecki.

Such a significant proposal was not made because Piotr Schmidt has been listed in the top three of the best Polish jazz trumpet players for many years, that so far he has already had 14 original and critically acclaimed albums as a leader, that he collaborates with many top Polish and foreign jazz musicians and is an artist well-known and appreciated. The proposal was made because Mr. Balkiewicz listened to one of Schmidt’s albums – Tribute to Tomasz Stańko (2018), and was delighted with the atmosphere that trumpeter and the band created on this album. He was delighted with the lyricism of his trumpet, the sound, the nuances and such a way of playing that touches the heart and captivates so much that you want to come back to this album over and over again.

This prestigious proposal could go to any other jazz star in Poland, but it went to Schmidt so that he would make a piece of art in his own style. This style reminds us of Tomasz Stańko, but also it resembles Slavic lyricism, Scandinavian spaces and melancholy or sometimes New York’s energy and charisma. The new combo of Piotr Schmidt impresses with its dynamics and energy, but also with serenity and what is called being here and now, corresponding with each other in real time in creating music, constantly inspiring each other. The line-up includes only international jazz stars: Paweł Tomaszewski (PL) on the piano (exactly the one on which Bruce Liu won the last Chopin Competition), David Dorużka from Prague on the guitar, Kęputis Vaiginis from Vilnius on saxophones, as well as two Polish and two American musicians on double bass and drums : Michał Barański, Harish Raghavan, Sebastian Kuchczyński and Jonathan Barber. With this ensemble Schmidt delights and intrigues. He moves and fascinates.

Komeda, though known for a self-effacing attitude to his own artistry, called My Sweet European Homeland the best work of his life. Meanwhile, Joachim-Ernst Berendt wrote: “We have never yet had a poetry album with such beautiful, rich and emotional melodies!”.

After over half a century, the unknown, hitherto missing part of Krzysztof Komeda’s My Sweet European Homeland will finally be heard by fans of the great jazz composer. Interpreted and arranged by Piotr Schmidt, Komeda’s manuscripts have become extraordinary music, uncannily faithful to Krzysztof Komeda’s spirit. The lost set on the studio album is accompanied by a composition from the original album:  After Catastrophe, which serve to bridge the two parts of Komeda’s opus. What a wonderful homage to Krzysztof Komeda on the 90th anniversary of his birth, from Piotr Schmidt & friends. Our European homeland seems to have been waiting for this music…

Line-Up:
Piotr Schmidt – trumpet
Kęstutis Vaiginis – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
David Dorużka – guitar
Paweł Tomaszewski – grand piano
Harish Raghavan – double bass (3, 4, 5, 7)
Michał Barański – double bass (1, 2, 6)
Jonathan Barber – drums (3, 4, 5, 7)
Sebastian Kuchczyński – drums (1, 2, 6)

Tracklist:
1. Jonah
2. Miserere
3. The Classic
4. When The Light Of Imagination Goes Out
5. Just The Two Of Them
6. Jan Cherubin
7. After Catastrophe

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren

Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Komeda Unknown 1967

jazz
  • Vö.-Datum:
    23.09.2022
  • Artikelnummer:
  • Barcode:
    5902596066796

Piotr Schmidt

Piotr Schmidt – Komeda Unknown 1967. Der herausragende polnische Trompeter Piotr Schmidt hat mit neuem Ensemble bisher unbekannte Kompositionen von Krzysztof Komeda arrangiert und bearbeitet. Kompositionen, die kürzlich in der Nationalbibliothek in Warschau gefunden wurden und ursprünglich in das Projekt Meine Süsse Europäische Heimat von 1967 aufgenommen werden sollten. Als Schmidt vor zwei Jahren einen Anruf von Krzysztof Balkiewicz – dem Vorsitzenden der Gesellschaft zur Bewahrung des Erbes von Krzysztof Komeda und Leiter des Love Polish Jazz Festivals – erhielt, war Schmidt die Bedeutung des Vorschlags nicht bewusst. Balkiewicz erzählte Schmidt die ganze Geschichte um die sensationell gefundenen Stücke und überredete ihn, dieses Material zu überarbeiten und zu arrangieren, um es auf seinem Love Polish Jazz Festival in Tomaszów Mazowiecki uraufzuführen.

Piotr Schmidt zählt mit seinen 14 originellen, von der Kritik gefeierten Alben derzeit zu den drei gefragtesten polnischen Jazztrompetern und ist ein geschätzter Künstler unter vielen polnischen und ausländischen Top-Jazzmusikern. Der bedeutsame Vorschlag die Kompositionen von Krzysztof Komeda zu bearbeiten kam allerdings zustande, weil Herr Balkiewicz Schmidts Album „Tribute to Tomasz Stańko“ (2018) hörte und von der Atmosphäre begeistert war, die der Trompeter und die Band auf diesem Album schufen. Er war begeistert von der Lyrik seiner Trompete, dem Klang, den Nuancen und einer solchen Spielweise, die das Herz berührt und so sehr fesselt, dass man immer wieder zu diesem Album zurückkehren möchte.

Dieser prestigeträchtige Vorschlag konnte an jeden anderen polnischen Jazzstar gehen, aber er ging an Piotr Schmidt, damit er ein Kunstwerk in seinem eigenen Stil schafft. Dieser Stil erinnert an Tomasz Stańko, aber auch an slawische Lyrik, skandinavische Weite und Melancholie, manchmal aber auch sehr an New York’s  Großstadt Jazz mit der nötigen Portion and Drive & Charisma. Die neue Combo um Piotr Schmidt beeindruckt durch ihre Dynamik und Energie, aber auch durch Gelassenheit und das, was man das Hier und Jetzt nennt, indem man in Echtzeit miteinander korrespondiert, um Musik zu schaffen und sich gegenseitig zu inspirieren. In der Besetzung sind ausschließlich internationale Jazzstars vertreten: Paweł Tomaszewski am Klavier, David Dorużka aus Prag an der Gitarre, Kęputis Vaiginis aus Vilnius am Saxophon, sowie zwei polnische und zwei amerikanische Musiker am Kontrabass und Schlagzeug: Michał Barański, Harish Raghavan, Sebastian Kuchczyński und Jonathan Barber. Mit diesem Ensemble begeistert und verblüfft Schmidt. Er bewegt und fasziniert.

Komeda, der für seine zurückhaltende Einstellung zu seinem eigenen künstlerischen Schaffen bekannt ist, bezeichnete Meine Süsse Europäische Heimat als das beste Werk seines Lebens. Joachim-Ernst Berendt schrieb unterdessen: „Ein Poesiealbum mit so schönen, reichen und gefühlvollen Melodien haben wir noch nie erlebt!“.

Nach mehr als einem halben Jahrhundert wird der unbekannte, bisher verschollene Teil von Krzysztof Komedas Meine Süsse Europäische Heimat endlich von den Fans des großen Jazzkomponisten gehört werden. Interpretiert und arrangiert von Piotr Schmidt, sind Komedas Manuskripte zu einer außergewöhnlichen Musik geworden, die dem Geist von Krzysztof Komeda erstaunlich nahekommt. Das verlorene Set des Studioalbums wird von einer Komposition des Originalalbums begleitet: After Catastrophe, schlägt die Brücke zwischen den beiden Teilen von Komedas Werk. Was für eine wunderbare Hommage von Piotr Schmidt & Freunden an Krzysztof Komeda zu seinem 90. Geburtstag. Unser europäisches Heimatland scheint auf diese Musik gewartet zu haben.

Line-Up:
Piotr Schmidt – Trompete
Kęstutis Vaiginis – Tenorsaxophon
David Dorużka – Gitarre
Paweł Tomaszewski – Piano
Harish Raghavan – Bass (3, 4, 5, 7)
Michał Barański – Bass (1, 2, 6)
Jonathan Barber – Schlagzeug (3, 4, 5, 7)
Sebastian Kuchczyński – Schlagzeug (1, 2, 6)

Tracklist:
1. Jonah
2. Miserere
3. The Classic
4. When The Light Of Imagination Goes Out
5. Just The Two Of Them
6. Jan Cherubin
7. After Catastrophe

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren