Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

CELEBRATION

jazz
  • Release Date:
    05.04.2024
  • Article Number:
    OT 065-2
  • Barcode:
    0792971334757

Markus Stockhausen Group

“Celebrating in these times with so many challenges in the world? Yes! Absolutely, with music. That is our modest contribution to reconciliation in the world.” M. Stockhausen

As a trumpet soloist, improviser and composer at home in jazz as well as in contemporary and classical music, Markus Stockhausen is one of the most versatile musicians of our time internationally and is known as a musical border crosser – always in search of new forms of expression.

After “Wild Life” and “Tales”, “Celebration” is now being released. On their third album, the Markus Stockhausen Group celebrates the life, music and friendship of their quartet with six wonderful guest musicians from many different countries. As the previous album “Tales” (o-tone music) already showcased many facets of the group, this time they really want to “celebrate” and enrich their music with the extraordinary musicality of those guest soloists.

Below are some short texts by Markus Stockhausen about the guest soloists:

Rabih Lahoud – what a wonderful, expressive voice! Since embarking on our “Eternal Voyage” together in 2008, we have become good friends. Today Rabih is one of the finest singers in Germany and beyond. (Salām, Talking)

Levan Andria – is a young cellist who stood in superbly for Jörg Brinkmann at several of our concerts, bringing his own style of playing to our music. This gave me the idea of bringing together Levan and Jörg, and the result is “Karussell”, a kind of double concerto for two celli. In the free improvisation “Spiegelung” they mirror one another, throwing musical balls back and forth between them.

Tamara Lukasheva – what impressive vocal control, agility, intonation and timing she possesses. Seamlessly adapting to the sound of our group, she made our music shine. It was marvellous to experience. Equally impressive is her desire to strive for the highest musical standards. (Gentle–Seeing the Light, Falling Stars)

Nguyên Lê – a master of the electric guitar. I have admired him since the mid-90s and played with him in Dhafer Youssef’s group (notably on the legendary album “Malak”), and in my “Possible Worlds Orchestra”. In “Celebration”, one can hear the joy of our reunion. Nguyên takes us into new realms, and leads us into intense, adventurous sound spaces. (Hallelujah, Nguyên, Savannah, Dancing in Clouds)

Bodek Janke – is a magnificent tabla player, subtle, strong and full of virtuosity (Salām, Abstract Lines). His complex and driving drumming comes alive particularly in the interplay with Christian in all the pieces with Nguyên (Hallelujah, Nguyên, Savanne, Dancing on Clouds). Christian and Bodek played together previously on “Wild Life”, so this felt like a friendly continuation of and musical expansion on earlier themes.

Mateusz Smoczyński – we met at a festival in Belgrade and got to know each other on the subsequent flight, exchanging our CDs. Impressed by his incredible violin playing, I wanted to play with him as soon as possible. He masters the most complicated passages seemingly effortlessly, is adept in all styles while also remaining imaginative and free. What more could one wish for? Many joint concerts … (Revolution, Abstract Lines, Take Off, You Never Know)

Tracklist
CD1:

  1. Revolution Mateusz Smoczyński (06:49)
  2. Gentle – Seeing the Light Tamara Lukasheva (07:29)
  3. Little Dream (07:29)
  4. Hallelujah feat. Nguyên Lê & Bodek Janke (08:02)
  5. Salām Rabih Lahoud (09:27)
  6. Ahnung Duo (03:22)
  7. Karussell (09:46)
  8. Talking Rabih Lahoud (06:52)
  9. Savanne Nguyên Lê & Bodek Janke (09:22)Gesamtspielzeit: 68:55

CD2:

  1. Dancing on Clouds Nguyên Lê & Bodek Janke (07:09)
  2. Falling Stars Tamara Lukasheva (10:13)
  3. Abstract Lines Mateusz Smoczyński (08:57)
  4. Take Off Mateusz Smoczyński (04:30)
  5. Nguyên Nguyên Lê & Bodek Janke (11:07)
  6. Tempus Perfectum (09:09)
  7. Child Song (06:42)
  8. Spiegelung Levan Andria (07:42)
  9. You Never Know Mateusz Smoczyński (06:28)Gesamtspielzeit: 72:03

Line-Up
Markus Stockhausen – flugelhorn/trumpet/electronics
Jeroen van Vliet – piano/keyboard
Jörg Brinkmann – cello/electronics
Christian Thomé – drums

Gastsolisten:
Tamara Lukacheva – vocals; Rabih Lahoud – vocals; Nguyên Lê – e-guitar; Mateusz Smoszyński – violin; Levan Andria – cello ; Bodek Janke – tabla/percussion

Tourdates
25.01.2024         Lörrach               Burghof
23.02.2024         Ismaning            Musikschule
02.03.2024        Overath               Kulturbahnhof
03.03.2024        Darmstadt          Stadtkirche
18.04.2024        Kaiserslautern    Jazzfestival (Opener)
19.04.2024         Stuttgart             Petruskirche
24.05.2024        Essen                   Alter Bahnhof Kettwig
19.07.2024         F-Junas               Junas Jazz Festival (ft. Nguyên Lê)

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren

Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

CELEBRATION

jazz
  • Vö.-Datum:
    05.04.2024
  • Artikelnummer:
    OT 065-2
  • Barcode:
    0792971334757

Markus Stockhausen Group

„Feiern, in unserer Zeit mit so vielen Herausforderungen in der Welt? Ja! Unbedingt, mit Musik. Das ist unser bescheidener Beitrag zur Versöhnung in der Welt.“ M. Stockhausen

Als Trompetensolist, Improvisator und Komponist im Jazz genauso zuhause wie in der zeitgenössischen und der klassischen Musik, zählt Markus Stockhausen international zu den vielseitigsten Musikern unserer Zeit und ist bekannt als musikalischer Grenzgänger – stets auf der Suche nach neuen Ausdrucksformen.

Nach „Wild Life“ und „Tales“ erscheint nun „Celebration“. Auf dem mittlerweile dritten Album feiert die Markus Stockhausen Group das Leben, die Musik und die Freundschaft ihres Quartetts mit sechs wunderbaren Gastmusikern aus vielen verschiedenen Ländern. Da auf dem vorherigen Album „Tales“ (o-tone music) bereits viele Facetten der Gruppe erklangen, möchten sie diesmal wirklich „feiern“ und ihre Musik durch die außerordentliche Musikalität jener Gastsolisten bereichern.

Im Folgenden noch einige kurze Texte von Markus Stockhausen über die Gastsolisten:

Rabih Lahoud – welch wunderbare, ausdrucksstarke Stimme! Seit wir im Jahre 2008 gemeinsam auf die „Eternal Voyage“ (unvergängliche Reise) gingen sind wir gute Freunde geworden. Rabih ist heute einer der ganz großen Sänger in Deutschland und darüber hinaus. (Salam, Talking)

Levan Andria – der bei einigen Konzerten Jörg Brinkmann bravourös mit seiner ganz eigenen Spielweise vertrat. Die Idee war Levan und Jörg zusammenzubringen und so entstand „Karussell“, eine Art Doppelkonzert für zwei Celli. In der freien Improvisation (Spiegelung) werfen sie sich die musikalischen Bälle zu.

Tamara Lukasheva – über was für eine beeindruckende Stimmbeherrschung, Agilität, Intonationssicherheit und Timing sie verfügt! Sie passte sich nahtlos dem Klang unserer Gruppe an und verlieh uns einen besonderen Glanz. Es war herrlich zu erleben. Beeindruckend war auch ihr hoher musikalischer Anspruch. (Gentle – Seeing the Light, Falling Stars)

Nguyên Lê – Meister der E-Gitarre. Seit Mitte der 90-iger Jahre bewundere ich ihn und spielte damals oft mit ihm in der Gruppe von Dhafer Youssef (zu hören auf dem legendären Album „Malak“), oder in meinem „Possible Worlds Orchestra“ und P.W. Quartett. Eine lange Pause kam, doch nun das Feiern unseres Wiedersehens. Nguyên trieb unsere Gruppe in neue Gefilde und schenkte uns intensive, abenteuerliche Klangräume. (Hallelujah, Nguyên, Savanne, Dancing in Clouds)

Bodek Janke – mit seinem grandiosen Tablaspiel, subtil, stark, hoch virtuos. Dazu sein komplexes und antreibendes Schlagzeugspiel, das, in der Doppelung mit Christian Thomé, besonders im Zusammenspiel mit Nguyên glänzte. Christian und Bodek begegneten sich bereits bei „Wild Life“ und so ist es wie eine freundschaftliche Fortsetzung und inhaltliche Erweiterung. (Salam, Abstract Lines, Hallelujah, Nguyên, Savanne, Dancing on Clouds)

Mateusz Smoczyński – wir begegneten uns bei einem Festival in Belgrad. Auf der anschließenden gemeinsamen Flugreise lernten wir uns kennen und tauschten unsere CD’s aus. Beeindruckt von seinem unglaublichen Geigenspiel entstand der starke Wunsch, sobald wie möglich mit ihm zu spielen. Scheinbar mühelos bewältigt er komplizierteste Passagen, ist sicher in allem und dazu einfallsreich und frei. Was kann man sich mehr wünschen? Mehr gemeinsame Konzerte … die kommen werden … (Abstract Lines, Revolution, First Time, Take Off)

Tracklist
CD1:

  1. Revolution Mateusz Smoczyński (06:49)
  2. Gentle – Seeing the Light Tamara Lukasheva (07:29)
  3. Little Dream (07:29)
  4. Hallelujah feat. Nguyên Lê & Bodek Janke (08:02)
  5. Salām Rabih Lahoud (09:27)
  6. Ahnung Duo (03:22)
  7. Karussell (09:46)
  8. Talking Rabih Lahoud (06:52)
  9. Savanne Nguyên Lê & Bodek Janke (09:22)Gesamtspielzeit: 68:55

CD2:

  1. Dancing on Clouds Nguyên Lê & Bodek Janke (07:09)
  2. Falling Stars Tamara Lukasheva (10:13)
  3. Abstract Lines Mateusz Smoczyński (08:57)
  4. Take Off Mateusz Smoczyński (04:30)
  5. Nguyên Nguyên Lê & Bodek Janke (11:07)
  6. Tempus Perfectum (09:09)
  7. Child Song (06:42)
  8. Spiegelung Levan Andria (07:42)
  9. You Never Know Mateusz Smoczyński (06:28)Gesamtspielzeit: 72:03

Besetzung
Markus Stockhausen – Flügelhorn/Trompete/Electronics
Jeroen van Vliet – Piano/Keyboard
Jörg Brinkmann – Cello/Electronics
Christian Thomé – Drums

Gastsolisten:
Tamara Lukacheva – Vocals; Rabih Lahoud – Vocals; Nguyên Lê – E-Gitarre; Mateusz Smoszyński – Violine; Levan Andria – Cello ; Bodek Janke – Tabla/Perkussion

Tourdaten
25.01.2024         Lörrach               Burghof
23.02.2024         Ismaning            Musikschule
02.03.2024        Overath               Kulturbahnhof
03.03.2024        Darmstadt          Stadtkirche
18.04.2024        Kaiserslautern    Jazzfestival (Opener)
19.04.2024         Stuttgart             Petruskirche
24.05.2024        Essen                   Alter Bahnhof Kettwig
19.07.2024         F-Junas               Junas Jazz Festival (ft. Nguyên Lê)

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren