Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Adam Bałdych Quartet

Jazz
  • Adam Bałdych
    violin
  • Łukasz Ojdana
    piano
  • Michał Barański
    bass
  • Dawid Fortuna
    drums
  • Auch buchbar als Duo mit Helge Lien
    piano
Booking territory: Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Belgium, The Netherlands, Luxembourg

“Without doubt the greatest living master of violin in jazz. His potential knows no bounds”, wrote the FAZ after Polish violinist Adam Bałdych’s celebrated performance at the 2011 Jazzfest Berlin. On “Imaginary Room,” his first album for the ACT label, we hear a jazz violinist as one has never experienced him before: No wailing and sobbing, rather Bałdych’s technically breathtaking lines are reminiscent of those of a brass instrument, and the polyphonic passages of a pianist’s chords, always underpinned by a somewhat rough, bluesy undertone. He made a splash at JazzBaltica 2012 and the Montreux Jazz Festival, leaving no doubt that Europe has a new jazz star. Bałdych combines aspects of different musical styles and eras and lives up to this high standard.

biography

Violinist and composer. Born 18.05.1986 in Gorzow Wielkopolski, based in Warsaw. A graduate of the Academy of Music in Katowice, tutored by Henryk Gembalski. Since 2012 he has been associated with ACT music publisher seated in Munich.

Dubbed “a violin prodigy”, he started his career at the age of 14. He was promptly recognised as an innovator combining the achievements of classical music and the contemporary language of the violin with an improviser’s talent. In a short time, he created his own style, which became an inspiration for a new generation of improvising violinists.

He has presented his music at the most important jazz festivals and in prestigious concert halls, in countries such as: Poland, Germany, South Korea, China, Japan, the United States, Canada, Austria, Iceland, Portugal, Azerbaijan, the Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Italy, Spain, and Indonesia. He has performed and recorded with extraordinary artists such as: Yaron Herman, Agata Zubel, Cezary Duchnowski, Helge Lien, Aaron Parks, Lars Danielsson, Nils Landgren, Iiro Rantala, Marius Neset, Jacob Karlzon, Joachim Kuhn, and Billy Cobham. He has received numerous prizes and awards, such as: The Grand Prix and the individual award of the Jazz nad Odrą festival (2006), ECHO Jazz – a German music industry award (2013), the Polish gold Cross of Merit (2016) and the Decoration of Honor Meritorious for Polish Culture (2016). In 2020, together with the Adam Bałdych Quartet, he became a finalist of the prestigious BMW Welt Jazz 2020 award, with results to be announced in January 2021.

Adam Bałdych has been more and more active as a classical composer, writing pieces commissioned by renowned orchestras. In 2015 he composed the Mozaika-Impresje piece commissioned by the Szczecin Baltic Neopolis Orchestra, and in 2016 he wrote Antiphona to the texts found in the Qumran caves for the Orkiestra Muzyki Nowej. In 2019 he prepared the Early Birds Symphony commissioned by the AUKSO orchestra for the Auksodrone festival, and he is about to realise further commissions for AUKSO. In 2021 Adam Bałdych’s new composition, commissioned by the Stuttgarter Kammerorchester, will be premiered in Stuttgart.

Adam Bałdych is appreciated for his creativity in the field of jazz and contemporary music performance, blending the two domains in a creative manner, and a great expressivity of his musical interpretations. He has participated in recording nearly 20 albums. The latest, released in 2021 – Poetry – is the seventh album he wrote and performed in published by ACT. This album is Bałdych’s collaboration with the extraordinary Italian trumpeter Paolo Fresu, the album appeared in the ranking of the most important publications of the year by the American portal Bandcamp and the British JazzWise magazine.

review

“Without doubt the greatest living master of violin in jazz. His potential knows no bounds” FAZ

“Harmony and beauty.” Jazzthing

“No one else plays jazz on the violin as crisply and bitingly, but also lyrically and always well phrased as Adam Bałdych.” NDR Kultur

press

“Without doubt the greatest living master of violin in jazz. His potential knows no bounds”, wrote the FAZ after Polish violinist Adam Bałdych’s celebrated performance at the 2011 Jazzfest Berlin. On “Imaginary Room,” his first album for the ACT label, we hear a jazz violinist as one has never experienced him before: No wailing and sobbing, rather Bałdych’s technically breathtaking lines are reminiscent of those of a brass instrument, and the polyphonic passages of a pianist’s chords, always underpinned by a somewhat rough, bluesy undertone. He made a splash at JazzBaltica 2012 and the Montreux Jazz Festival, leaving no doubt that Europe has a new jazz star. Bałdych combines aspects of different musical styles and eras and lives up to this high standard.

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren

Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Adam Bałdych Quartet

Jazz
  • Adam Bałdych
    Violine
  • Łukasz Ojdana
    Piano
  • Michał Barański
    Bass
  • Dawid Fortuna
    Drums
  • Auch buchbar als Duo mit Helge Lien
    Piano
Booking-Bereich: Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz, Belgien, Niederlande, Luxemburg

„Zweifellos der größte lebende Geigenmeister im Jazz. Sein Potenzial kennt keine Grenzen.“, schrieb die FAZ nach dem gefeierten Auftritt des polnischen Geigers Adam Bałdych auf dem Jazzfest Berlin. Auf „Imaginary Room“, seinem ersten Album für das Label ACT, hören wir einen Jazzgeiger, wie man ihn noch nie erlebt hat: Kein Jammern und Schluchzen, vielmehr erinnern Bałdychs technisch atemberaubende Linien an die eines Blechblasinstruments, und die mehrstimmigen Passagen an die Akkorde eines Pianisten, immer unterlegt von einem etwas rauen, bluesigen Unterton. Auf der JazzBaltica 2012 und dem Montreux Jazz Festival sorgte er für Furore und ließ keinen Zweifel daran, dass Europa einen neuen Jazzstar hat. Bałdych verbindet Aspekte verschiedener Musikstile und Epochen und wird diesem hohen Anspruch gerecht.

Biographie

Geiger und Komponist. Er ist Absolvent der Musikakademie in Kattowitz und wurde von Henryk Gembalski unterrichtet. Seit 2012 ist er mit dem ACT Musikverlag mit Sitz in München verbunden.

Als „Violin-Wunderkind“ betitelt, begann er seine Karriere im Alter von 14 Jahren und wurde schnell als Innovator erkannt, der die Errungenschaften der klassischen Musik und die zeitgenössische Sprache der Violine mit dem Talent eines Improvisators verbindet. In kurzer Zeit schuf er seinen eigenen Stil, der zu einer Inspiration für eine neue Generation von improvisierenden Geigern wurde.

Er präsentierte seine Musik auf den wichtigsten Jazzfestivals und in renommierten Konzertsälen, unter anderem in folgenden Ländern: Polen, Deutschland, Südkorea, China, Japan, die Vereinigten Staaten, Kanada, Österreich, Island, Portugal, Aserbaidschan, die Niederlande, Schweden, Norwegen, Finnland, Italien, Spanien und Indonesien. Er ist mit außergewöhnlichen Künstlern aufgetreten und hat mit ihnen Aufnahmen gemacht, darunter: Yaron Herman, Agata Zubel, Cezary Duchnowski, Helge Lien, Aaron Parks, Lars Danielsson, Nils Landgren, Iiro Rantala, Marius Neset, Jacob Karlzon, Joachim Kuhn, und Billy Cobham. Er hat zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen erhalten, wie z. B.: Den Grand Prix und den Einzelpreis des Festivals „Jazz nad Odrą“ (2006), den ECHO Jazz – Preis der deutschen Musikindustrie (2013), das Polnische Verdienstkreuz in Gold (2016) und das Ehrenzeichen für Verdienste um die polnische Kultur (2016). Zusammen mit dem Adam Bałdych Quartett wurde er 2020 Finalist des renommierten Preises BMW Welt Jazz 2020, dessen Ergebnisse im Januar 2021 bekannt gegeben wurden.

Adam Bałdych ist zunehmend auch als klassischer Komponist tätig und schreibt Auftragswerke für renommierte Orchester. Im Jahr 2015 komponierte er das Stück Mozaika-Impresje im Auftrag des Szczecin Baltic Neopolis Orchestra, und 2016 schrieb er Antiphona zu den in den Qumran-Höhlen gefundenen Texten für das Orkiestra Muzyki Nowej. 2019 bereitete er die Early Birds Symphony im Auftrag des AUKSO-Orchesters für das Auksodrone-Festival vor, und er ist dabei, weitere Aufträge für das AUKSO zu realisieren. 2021 wird Adam Bałdychs neue Komposition im Auftrag des Stuttgarter Kammerorchesters in Stuttgart uraufgeführt werden.

Adam Bałdych wird für seine Kreativität auf dem Gebiet des Jazz und der zeitgenössischen Musik, die er auf kreative Weise miteinander verbindet, und für die große Ausdruckskraft seiner musikalischen Interpretationen geschätzt. Er hat an der Aufnahme von fast 20 Alben mitgewirkt. Das neue Album von Adam Bałdych,“Poetry“, wurde gerade im Oktober 2021 als Adams siebte CD für ACT mit einem Gastauftritt von Paolo Fresu (Trompete) veröffentlicht.

Rezensionen

„Harmonie und Schönheit.“ Jazzthing

„Zweifellos der größte lebende Geigenmeister des Jazz. Sein Potenzial kennt keine Grenzen.“ FAZ

„Kein anderer spielt so knackig und bissig, aber auch lyrisch und immer gut phrasiert Jazz auf der Geige wie Adam Bałdych.“ NDR Kultur

Pressetexte

„Zweifellos der größte lebende Geigenmeister im Jazz. Sein Potenzial kennt keine Grenzen.“, schrieb die FAZ nach dem gefeierten Auftritt des polnischen Geigers Adam Bałdych auf dem Jazzfest Berlin 2011. Auf „Imaginary Room“, seinem ersten Album für das Label ACT, hören wir einen Jazzgeiger, wie man ihn noch nie erlebt hat: Kein Jammern und Schluchzen, vielmehr erinnern Bałdychs technisch atemberaubende Linien an die eines Blechblasinstruments, und die mehrstimmigen Passagen an die Akkorde eines Pianisten, immer unterlegt von einem etwas rauen, bluesigen Unterton. Auf der JazzBaltica 2012 und dem Montreux Jazz Festival sorgte er für Furore und ließ keinen Zweifel daran, dass Europa einen neuen Jazzstar hat. Bałdych verbindet Aspekte verschiedener Musikstile und Epochen und wird diesem hohen Anspruch gerecht.

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren