Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Edgar Knecht und Frederik Köster

Jazz
  • Edgar Knecht
    piano, composer
  • Frederik Köster
    trumpet, flugelhorn

At the moment Edgar Knecht is presenting his highly praised new album “Personal Seasons” together with Frederik Köster, with whom he also recorded the album.

The special thing about the album is that it is probably the only jazzy seasonal program based on German folk songs.

biography

Edgar Knecht is a trained pianist and composer. The “high-flyer at the grand piano” already gave concerts at the age of 14 and in the course of his dazzling career distilled a subject that has become his personal signature.

He combined jazz and folk tunes of different origins with folk songs of his German homeland in a unique way. He succeeded in the feat of dusting off songs that had apparently acquired a patina or those that had fallen into discredit because of their abuse during the Nazi period, and to let them be rediscovered in their sometimes resistant brilliance.

“A very decisive point for me is the exposure of my own musical roots. Other cultures can do this, but in our country it is difficult to deal with folk songs for understandable historical reasons. But there are many that are just as moving as they are absolutely relevant today,” says the musician from Kassel. Together with Rolf Denecke on double bass and Tobias Schulte on drums, he is celebrated worldwide for his unique music.

Frederik Köster (born 14.10.1977) studied school music in Detmold and jazz trumpet and jazz composition/arrangement in Cologne.

Since 2007 Frederik Köster has been Professor for Jazz Trumpet at the Institute of Music at the University of Music Osnabrück and had a teaching position at the University of Music, Drama and Media in Hannover from 2010 – 2018.

The trumpeter from Cologne has already played with: Phil Woods, Albert Mangelsdorff, Ack van Rooyen, Biréli Lagrene, Randy Brecker, Nils Wogram, Simon Nabatov, Nils Landgren, Wolfgang Haffner, Hiram Bullock, Jiggs Whigham, Rick Margitza, Jane Monheit, Lalo Shiffrin, Trilok Gurtu, Nils Petter Molvaer, Johannes Enders, Paul Heller, Niels Klein, Michael Wollny, Florian Weber, WDR Big Band, HR Big Band, Peter Herbolzheimer’s Rhythm Combination & Brass, etc.

Frederik Köster received the prize for the best soloist at the Jazz Hoeilaart International Contest in Belgium in September 2006. The Frederik Köster Quartet was awarded the new German Jazz Prize in Mannheim on 14.02.2009 with a prize money of 10.000€. The prize for the best soloist also went to Frederik Köster. In May 2010 he received the ECHO JAZZ in the category Instrumentalist of the Year national – Brass Instruments/Brass! for his album “ZEICHEN DER ZEIT”. Frederik Köster receives on 29.10.2010 the WDR Jazzpreis in the category “Improvisation”, endowed with 10.000€! In January 2013 Frederik will be awarded the Westfalen Jazzpreis 2013 in Münster! In 2017 he receives the ECHO JAZZ for his album “CANADA” in the category Instrumentalist of the year national – brass instruments/brass!

Frederik Köster has released nine albums under his own name, played with his bands at renowned jazz festivals such as Jazz Baltica, Moers Festival, Euro Jazz Festival in Mexico City or the North Sea Jazz Festvial in Rotterdam and toured Mexico, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Honduras, Portugal, Malaysia, Belgium, South Africa and India with the support of the Goethe Institute.

Frederik’s current project is called Die Verwandlung. Sebastian Sternal (piano) and Joscha Oetz are part of it. (contrabass) and Jonas Burgwinkel (percussion).

In 2009 Frederik Köster founded the jazz collective KLAENG together with Tobias Hoffmann, Niels Klein, Pablo Held, Jonas Burgwinkel, Robert Landfermann and Tobias Christl.

press

Edgar Knecht has long since earned himself a distinctive place in the international jazz spectrum through the way he combines jazz and world music with classical compositional technique. For his unique arrangements of folk songs he is celebrated worldwide with his trio.

His new album, the seasonal cycle “Personal Seasons”, is the third part of his trilogy of German folk songs. Like its predecessors, it is highly praised by the critics, has been “Jazzalbum der Woche” several times, or in the list of “Best albums of the year”.

The Norddeutscher Rundfunk, for example, finds: “A unique symbiosis of classical music, jazz and German folksongs, which is also unparalleled in its aesthetic coherence.

And Jazzthetik (D) follows up: “His synthesis of German folk songs and a rather traditional sparkling playing style is quite unrivaled. No wonder that the trio is one of the crowd pullers in Germany”.

In the Garana Edgar Knecht meets Frederik Köster, one of the leading German trumpet virtuosos, with whom he has also recorded his current album.

Köster has won all the important German jazz awards in recent years, played with such greats as Randy Brecker, Nils Landgren, Michael Wollny, Nils Petter Molvaer and Biréli Lagrene and is currently touring internationally with the Trilok Gurtu Band. “One of the greatest trumpet discoveries of recent times” (Westdeutscher Rundfunk).

In 2012, Edgar Knecht and his quartet played a celebrated concert in Garana, an evening that many will probably remember.

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren

Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Edgar Knecht und Frederik Köster

Jazz
  • Edgar Knecht
    Piano, Komponist
  • Frederik Köster
    Trompete, Flügelhorn

Zurzeit stellt Edgar Knecht zusammen mit Frederik Köster sein hochgelobtes neues Album „Personal Seasons“ vor, mit dem er auch sein Album eingespielt hatte.

Das Besondere am Album ist, dass es wohl das einzige jazzige Jahreszeitenprogramm ist, welches auf deutschen Volksliedern beruht.

Biographie

Edgar Knecht ist studierter Pianist und Komponist. Der „Überflieger am Flügel“ konzertierte bereits mit 14 Jahren und destillierte im Verlauf seiner schillernden Karriere ein zur persönlichen Handschrift gewordenes Sujet.

Jazz und Folk-Weisen unterschiedlicher Provenienzen verband er auf einzigartige Weise mit Volksliedern seiner deutschen Heimat. Ihm gelang das Kunststück, Lieder, die scheinbar Patina angesetzt hatten oder jene, die wegen ihres Missbrauchs während der Nazizeit in Misskredit geraten waren, zu entstauben und sie in ihrem bisweilen widerständigen Glanz wiederentdecken zu lassen.

„Ein ganz entscheidender Punkt ist für mich dabei das Freilegen meiner eigenen musikalischen Wurzeln. Andere Kulturkreise können das, aber bei uns ist der Umgang mit Volksliedern aus verständlichen historischen Gründen schwierig. Dabei gibt es viele, die auch heute ebenso bewegend wie unbedingt relevant sind“, sagt der Kasseler Musiker. Zusammen mit Rolf Denecke am Kontrabass und Tobias Schulte am Schlagzeug wird er für seine einzigartige Musik weltweit gefeiert.

 

Frederik Köster (geb. 14.10.1977) studierte in Detmold Schulmusik und in Köln Jazz-Trompete und Jazz-Komposition/Arrangement.

Seit 2007 ist Frederik Köster Professor für Jazz-Trompete an der Institut für Musik der Hochschule Osnabrück und hatte von 2010 – 2018 einen Lehrauftrag an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien in Hannover.

Der Kölner Trompeter spielte bereits mit: Phil Woods, Albert Mangelsdorff, Ack van Rooyen, Biréli Lagrene, Randy Brecker, Nils Wogram, Simon Nabatov, Nils Landgren, Wolfgang Haffner, Hiram Bullock, Jiggs Whigham, Rick Margitza, Jane Monheit, Lalo Shiffrin, Trilok Gurtu, Nils Petter Molvaer, Johannes Enders, Paul Heller, Niels Klein, Michael Wollny, Florian Weber, WDR Big Band, HR Big Band, Peter Herbolzheimer’s Rhythm Combination & Brass, etc.

Frederik Köster erhielt im September 2006 beim Jazz Hoeilaart International Contest in Belgien den Preis für den besten Solisten. Das Frederik Köster Quartett erhielt am 14.02.2009 den mit 10.000€ dotierten neuen deutschen Jazzpreis in Mannheim. Der Preis für den besten Solisten ging ebenfalls an Frederik Köster. Im Mai 2010 erhält er für sein Album “ZEICHEN DER ZEIT” den ECHO JAZZ in der Kategorie Instrumentalist des Jahres national – Blechblasinstrumente/Brass! Frederik Köster erhält am 29.10.2010 den mit 10.000€ dotierten WDR Jazzpreis in der Kategorie „Improvisation“! Im Januar 2013 wird Frederik in Münster mit dem Westfalen Jazzpreis 2013 ausgezeichnet! 2017 erhält er für sein Album “CANADA” den ECHO JAZZ in der Kategorie Instrumentalist des Jahres national – Blechblasinstrumente/Brass!

Unter eigenem Namen veröffentlichte Frederik Köster bisher neun Alben, spielte mit seinen Bands auf namenhaften Jazz Festivals wie dem Jazz Baltica, Moers Festival, Euro Jazz Festival in Mexico City oder dem North Sea Jazz Festvial in Rotterdam und tourte u.a. mit Unterstützung des Goethe Institutes durch Mexiko, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Honduras, Portugal, Malaysia, Belgien, Südafrika und Indien.

Frederiks aktuelles Projekt heißt Die Verwandlung. Mit dabei sind Sebastian Sternal (Klavier), Joscha Oetz. (Kontrbass) und Jonas Burgwinkel (Schlagzeug).

2009 gründete Frederik Köster zusammen mit Tobias Hoffmann, Niels Klein, Pablo Held, Jonas Burgwinkel, Robert Landfermann und Tobias Christl das Jazzkollektiv KLAENG.

Pressetexte

Edgar Knecht hat sich seit langem durch die Art und Weise, wie er Jazz und Weltmusik mit klassischer Kompositionstechnik verbindet, einen unverwechselbaren Platz im internationalen Jazzspektrum erspielt. Für seine einzigartigen Volksliedbearbeitungen wird er mit seinem Trio weltweit gefeiert.

Sein neues Album, der Jahreszeitenzyklus “Personal Seasons”, ist der dritte Teil seiner Trilogie um deutsche Volkslieder. Wie seine Vorgänger wird es von der Kritik hochgelobt, war mehrfach „Jazzalbum der Woche“ oder in der Liste der „Best albums of the year“.

Der Norddeutsche Rundfunk etwa befindet: „Eine einzigartige Symbiose aus Klassik, Jazz und deutschem Volkslied, die zudem in ihrer ästhetischen Stimmigkeit ihresgleichen sucht.“

Und die Jazzthetik (D) schließt sich an: „Seine Synthese aus deutschen Volksliedern und einer eher traditionell funkelnden Spielauf­fassung ist ziemlich unerreicht. Kein Wunder, dass das Trio zu den Publikumsmagneten in Deutschland zählt.“

Im Garana trifft Edgar Knecht auf Frederik Köster, einen der führenden deutschen Trompetenvirtuosen, mit dem er auch sein aktuelles Album eingespielt hat.

Köster hat in den letzten Jahren alle wichtigen deutschen Jazzpreise abgeräumt, spielte u.a. mit Größen wie Randy Brecker, Nils Landgren, Michael Wollny, Nils Petter Molvaer oder Biréli Lagrene und tourt aktuell international mit der Trilok Gurtu Band. „Eine der größten Trompeten-Entdeckungen der letzten Zeit“ (Westdeutscher Rundfunk).

2012 spielte Edgar Knecht mit seinem Quartett schon einmal ein gefeiertes Konzert in Garana, ein Abend, der vielen in Erinnerung geblieben sein dürfte.

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren