Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Goodbye July

jazz
  • Release Date:
    02.10.2020
  • Article Number:
    OT036-2
  • Barcode:
    0635322139741

Jaak Sooäär / Ara Yaralyan / Markku Ounaskari

What is a trio of guitar, bass and drums playing melodic jazz with some elements of Nordic folk and European classical music? The answer came to Estonian guitarist Jaak Sooäär while listening to the trios results of the recording session to become their debut album “A Shooting Star” (o-tone music) in 2018. The music sounded like a piano trio without having a piano in the band. The trios of guitar, bass and drums are usually rock orientated and qualified as “power trios” but here the music was more about polyphonic interplay of three musicians creating airy landscapes similar to modern European piano trio sound.

As the debut album of the trio consisted of songs which had already been written earlier, the new album is mostly inspired by the possibilities and musicians of this particular trio and composed specially for this “piano trio without a piano”. The new compositions are inspired by rich emotions and colours of the late summer and the unusually warm and friendly autumn in 2018. For example the opening track of the  album “November Rose” is inspired by two beautiful red roses blossoming in the home yard of Jaak Sooäär in the middle of November which is very surprising for the Estonian climate. There are also two Armenian songs on this album arranged by bassist Ara Yaralyan.

Estonian guitarist Jaak Sooäär, Armenian/Estonian double bassist Ara Yaralyan and Finnish drummer Markku Ounaskari established the trio in spring 2016. Since then they have performed in Estonia, Finland, Germany, Switzerland and Italy. The trio released the debut album “A Shooting Star” on German label O-Tone Music in October 2018 and the new album will be released on the same label in autumn 2020.

Jaak Sooäär is one of the most active jazz musicians of the Baltics, who has performed with Ray Anderson, Anders Jormin, Han Bennink, Will Calhoun, Dave Liebman and Vladimir Tarasov among others. Ara Yaralyan is know of his work in Kari Ikonen Trio, he has also collaborated with Ingrid Jensen, Vardan Ovsepian and Verneri Pohjola to name a few. The best known member of the trio is Markku Ounaskari, who regularly collaborates with artists such as Arve Henriksen, Anders Jormin, Nils Petter Molvaer, Trygve Seim, Markus Stockhausen, Tore Brunborg, Mats Eilertsen and Lena Willemark and appears on several ECM albums.

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren

Suchen
Generic filters
Suchen
Generic filters

Goodbye July

jazz
  • Vö.-Datum:
    02.10.2020
  • Artikelnummer:
    OT036-2
  • Barcode:
    0635322139741

Jaak Sooäär / Ara Yaralyan / Markku Ounaskari

Was ist ein Trio aus Gitarre, Bass und Schlagzeug, das melodischen Jazz mit einigen Elementen nordischer Folklore und europäischer Klassik spielt? Die Antwort kam dem estnischen Gitarristen Jaak Sooäär, als er sich die Ergebnisse der Aufnahmesession des Trios anhörte, das 2018 ihr Debütalbum „A Shooting Star“ (o-tone music) werden sollte. Die Musik klang wie ein Klaviertrio, nur ohne ein Klavier in der Band. Die Rock-orientierten Trios mit Gitarre, Bass und Schlagzeug werden auch als „Power-Trios“ bezeichnet. Im polyphonen Zusammenspiel der drei Musiker entstand ein Klang der sich eher nach luftigen Landschaften, ähnlich dem europäischen Klaviertrio-Sound anhörte.

Da das Debütalbum des Trios aus bereits existierenden Liedern bestand, ist das neue Album hauptsächlich von den Möglichkeiten und Musikern dieses speziellen Trios inspiriert und speziell für dieses „Klaviertrio ohne Klavier“ komponiert. Die neuen Kompositionen sind angefacht von den reichen Emotionen und Farben des Spätsommers und des ungewöhnlich warmen und freundlichen Herbstes 2018. So ist Beispielsweise der Eröffnungstrack des Albums „November Rose“ von zwei wunderschönen roten Rosen inspiriert, die Mitte November im Garten von Jaak Sooäär blühten. Ein eher untypisches Ereignis für das estnische Klima. Das Album überrascht auch mit zwei armenische Lieder, arrangiert vom Bassisten Ara Yaralyan.

Das Trio gründete sich im Frühjahr 2016 mit dem estnischen Gitarristen Jaak Sooäär, dem armenischen/estnischen Kontrabassisten Ara Yaralyan und dem finnischen Schlagzeuger Markku Ounaskari. Seitdem spielten sie in Estland, Finnland, Deutschland, der Schweiz und in Italien. Im Oktober 2018 veröffentlichte das Trio dann das Debütalbum „A Shooting Star“ bei dem deutschen Label o-tone Music. Das neue Album wird im Herbst 2020 ebenfalls hier erscheinen.

Jaak Sooäär ist einer der aktivsten Jazzmusiker des Baltikums, und trat unter anderem schon mit Ray Anderson, Anders Jormin, Han Bennink, Will Calhoun, Dave Liebman und Vladimir Tarasov auf. Sein Bandkollege Ara Yaralyan ist bekannt für seine Arbeit im Kari Ikonen Trio. Er arbeitete auch mit Ingrid Jensen, Vardan Ovsepian und Verneri Pohjola zusammen, um nur einige zu nennen. Das bekannteste Mitglied des Trios aber ist Markku Ounaskari. Der Schlagzeuger arbeitet regelmäßig mit Künstlern wie Arve Henriksen, Anders Jormin, Nils Petter Molvaer, Trygve Seim, Markus Stockhausen, Tore Brunborg, Mats Eilertsen und Lena Willemark zusammen und ist auf mehreren ECM-Alben zu hören.

o-tone music
Intl. booking - label - artist management - label management - publishing - distribution - B2B

fon: +49 (0) 641 - 9 48 89 30

Generelle Anfragen: info(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Label: label(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für das Booking: booking(at)o-tonemusic.de
Anfragen für Verlag und B2B: verlag(at)o-tonemusic.de

Adresse
Marktlaubenstr. 1, 35390 Gießen

Bürozeiten
Montag - Freitag 9:00 - 17:00 Uhr


Newsletter abonnieren